top of page
  • Writer's pictureEcumenical Women

CEDAW's 41st Session to take place in New York, 30 June - 18 July 2008

Written by Alison.

The 41st session of the Convention on the Elimination of All forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) will be taking place at the United Nations in New York City, commencing on the 30th of June. CEDAW, an international human rights treaty for women, was first adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1979. Since then, 185 nation states have become party to it, including Afghanistan, Chile, China, Iraq, and the Congo. Although the United States of America has not yet ratified the treaty, this has not prevented it from becoming one of the most highly ratified international human rights conventions.

During the upcoming 41st session, the CEDAW committee will review the reports submitted by Iceland, Finland, Lithuania, Nigeria, Slovakia, Tanzania, the United Kingdom, and Yemen. The Committee, upon considering the reports, will also present recommendations for each government and, under the statutes of the Optional Protocol to CEDAW, may further investigate into any countries whose reports they find inadequate due to contradictory or additional information.

The full text of the convention can be found at the International Women’s Rights Action Watch website, which also has good information about how NGOs can participate. Want a historical perspective? Consider ordering and reading “The Circle of Empowerment“, edited by Hanna Beate Schopp-Schilling, found below:

CEDAW 'Circle of Empowerment' brochure
Download P • 116KB

To date, governments which have yet to ratify include Iran, Somalia, Sudan, and the United States of America.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Register online for EW’s events at the CSW

CSW 2009 is right around the corner, and Ecumenical Women is working hard to put together our Orientation, Training, and Dinners for this year! And even better?  Now you can register online.  Join us


bottom of page